Choosing the Best Car Accident Lawyer in Portland
Personal Injury Topics
- Car Accident Resources
- Car Accident Frequently Asked Question
- What to do after a Car Accident
- Choosing the Right Portland Injury Lawyer
- Bicycle Accident Cases
- Commercial Truck Accidents
- Negotiating with Insurance Companies
Car Accident Claims
Car accidents are the most common type of personal injury case we handle. There are two common claims you might have as a result of an Oregon car accident: 1) personal injury; and 2) property damage. You can read more here in depth about what a personal injury claim is, but in car accidents it can simply be understood as suffering any bodily injury as a result of the accident.
Property damage claims stem from damage to your vehicle or damage to property that was inside of your vehicle. For example, if you were “rear-ended” while your bicycle was on a trunk rack and the bicycle was damaged, you could bring a claim for the damage to your bicycle.
Another little-used avenue for bringing property damage claims is what’s called diminished value claims. These claims are brought for the reduced re-sale value of your car as a result of being in an accident. You can bring a diminution in value claim even if don’t plan on selling your vehicle. Many accidents require the owner to report the accident on the title to the vehicle. This information can affect the perceived value of the car. Both the pre- and post-accident value can be determined by an appraiser. It’s the difference between those values that you claim for the diminution in value. Please contact Dawson Law Group Portland Accident Lawyers, if you would like assistance in determining whether you have a diminished value claim.
Filing an Insurance Claim
Getting back to the personal injury component of your case, it’s important that you make a claim with your insurance company as soon as possible.
You should report an Oregon auto accident even if it’s not your fault. The State of Oregon requires every auto insurance policy to provide personal injury protection benefits (“PIP”). PIP benefits provided medical coverage and will pay you for lost wages regardless of who was at fault in the accident. Once you make a claim you will be assigned a PIP adjuster than can explain the specifics of your policy and go through everything in more detail. The important thing is to get the claim started so you can use the claim number when you seek medical treatment. One common question potential clients have when they call us is why should their insurance have to pay when they weren’t at fault. If you weren’t at fault and your insurance company does pay PIP benefits they will most likely seek reimbursement from the at-fault driver’s insurance company once the claim is closed.
Another common question people have for their Portland car accident attorney is what other steps need to be taken. It’s vitally important not to forget to file a report with the DMV. You must file a report within 72 hours of the accident if: 1) Damage to the vehicle you were driving is over $1,500; 2) Damage to any vehicle is over $1,500 and any vehicle is towed from the scene as a result of damages from this accident; 3) Injury or death resulted from this accident; or 4) Damages to any one person’s property other than a vehicle involved in this accident is over $1,500. You can find a link to the accident form on the Oregon Department of Transportation’s Website.
For answers to commonly asked questions about car accident claims, visit our Car Accident FAQs page. For information on what you need to do right after a car accident, visit our What to Do After a Car Accident page. For recent examples of car accident claims that we have won for our clients, visit our Past Car Accident Cases page. This information is intended to provide you with some general ideas about car accident cases but there are many nuances that might change the circumstances of your case. If you have any questions about filing a car accident claim or want to get a case evaluation, please give our Portland personal injury attorneys a call at 503-919-1315 for a free, no pressure phone consultation. You can also reach our office by filling out a contact form on our Contact Us page.