Boating Accident Lawyer Portland FAQs
Boating Accident Topics
- Boating Accident Claims
- Catastrophic Injuries Overview
- Choosing the Right Portland Personal Injury Lawyer
- Your Lawsuit: What to Expect
Boating Accident FAQs
Here are some of the most common questions we have heard from clients looking for a boating accident lawyer in Portland. For more information about accidents including boats, personal watercraft, or other vessels, please visit our Boating Accident Cases page.
Frequently Asked Questions
How is a boating accident defined?
A boating accident is defined by the US Coast Guard as an incident where one of the following conditions occur:
- A person on a boat dies or becomes injured beyond the help of first aid.
- A person on a boat disappears and death or injury is suspected.
- A vessel causes or sustains damage.
What types of watercraft are typically involved in boating accidents?
Most commonly, powerboats such as cabin cruisers or runabouts are involved in boating accidents in Portland. However, personal watercraft (also known as “jet-skis”) are also commonly involved in boating accidents. Sailboats are involved in accidents less often than powerboats and jet-skis.
What are the most common contributing factors in boating accidents?
- Operator Inattention (inexperience, careless/reckless operation, excessive speed)
- Passenger behavior
- Hazardous weather or conditions
- Restricted vision
- Not having a proper lookout
- Equipment or Engine Failure
When do I need to file a boating accident report?
The operator (or owner) of a boat is required by law to file a written accident report to the Oregon State Marine Board if any of the following happen as a result of the accident:
- A person dies or disappears from the boat (report within 48 hours).
- A person required medical treatment (report within 48 hours).
- Damage to property as a result of the accident totals more than $2,000 (report within 10 days).
- Passengers are required to submit and accident report if an operator is unable/physically incapable of doing so. That form is can be found on the Oregon State Marine Board’s website.
What are the Statutes of Limitations for boating accidents?
A Statute of Limitations dictates how much time you have after an incident to file a personal injury claim. The statute of limitations for boating accidents depends on where the accident occurred and whether it is subject to federal or state maritime laws. If you don’t know your potential claim’s Statute of Limitations, it is important to contact a boating lawyer in Portland as soon as possible to ensure that no Statutes of Limitations expire, preventing you from getting the compensation you deserve.
What compensation can I expect from my boating accident claim?
The value of your boating accident claim is based on the injuries you have sustained in the accident and their significance on your life moving forward. These are the five factors that usually determine a personal injury claim:
- Past medical bills
- Future medical bills
- Lost wages
- Loss of earning capacity
- Pain and suffering
How much does it cost to talk to a lawyer about my boating accident?
Have questions or want to get a case evaluation from an experienced boating accident lawyer in Portland? Call Dawson Law Group today at 503-919-1315 for a free and confidential case evaluation. Our Portand injury attorneys take boating accident cases on a contingent basis, meaning you won’t be on the hook for any lawyer fees until we win you the compensation you deserve. (Read more about contingent fees on our Contingent Fees page.) Give one of our friendly, experienced, and knowledgeable attorneys a call today, and let Dawson Law Group fight for you!